Time vs. time…

Time is strange. How you perceive it depends largely on yourself and your surroundings. However it is also measurable and predictable. Five minutes can seem like an eternity when you are stressed, fatigued, or laying awake at night with insomnia (That would be me). Ask someone who hasn’t eaten in a week what it feels like to wait for a five minute egg…

Don’t worry I’m not going all Stephen Hawking on you. I’m actually just thinking about the differences between ‘real time’ and ‘web time.’

Time is different on the web then it is in real life; real time is measured in hours, minutes, and, seconds. Web time is measures in Full Speed or Dead Stop. When at the Dead Stop time you plan out how to accomplish your goals when you start back at Full Speed again. When at Full Speed you set out to not only accomplish the goals you set according to your plans but to expand upon those plans to make the goal even better when it is complete. Plus, things on the web change in a matter of seconds. Domain names get pulled out from under you, web-hosts change their policies and shake up your menu structure, technology advances change the way sites are structured, and file formats fall into and out of favor… All while you left the room to make a sandwich. Scoff all you want, it happens. I’ve experienced it. If I had been making a Hogie instead of simple bologna and cheese XHTML 2.0 probably would have come out.

When you work and play on the web it’s easy to get infected with ‘web time’ and, accidentally, inflict it on others. My wife and daughter are use to it and know how to draw me back into real time without a cinder block to the head… But sometimes a cinder block to the head is what is needed to remind you walk away from the computer for awhile and get used to normal time.

So with that in mind, and with my daughter starting school again, I walked away from the computer four days ago. No computing for four days and now just a very limited amount of keyboard time so I don’t fall behind with anything. It was much more of a relief than I thought it would be not planning what to do when I jumped back into Full Speed from my Dead Stop; I’ll have to jump back to it soon enough. But when I do jump all the way back in I think I’ll carry a bit more awareness of which ‘time’ I’m dealing with at any given “time.”

 

Published in: on August 23, 2006 at 4:39 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pohlse.wordpress.com/2006/08/23/time-vs-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

